Beginner corals?

Molli

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm just starting out. My passion (atm) is zoas. I was told they're good for beginners. However, the more I read about zoa pox, mystery melts, and nudi eating zoas, the more I wonder if my info was bad. Besides pest corals ( like evil 'take over the world polps' or 'masterminding xenias' ) what other good beginner type stuff is out there? Decent colors, easy keeper. Forgiving of gentle salinity swings or other parameter mess ups?

fishboyt

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nearly all soft and LPS corals are good for beginners. The LPS corals do require a little more attention to lighting and nitrates, but are generally easy to care for.

OP
OP
Molli

Molli

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Great thanks!

Are there any SPS that are good to start with? I've read green slimers are good to start with, anything else? I really love how pocillopora and milles look.

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Molli:

Have you kept a tank of any kind before this one?

I highly recommend avoiding corals that are "good for beginners" and to first consider what corals you'd really like to keep. (You're not going to be a beginner for long....then who are those corals in the tank for??? :wink:) Once you decide what you like, it's not to hard to make sure both you and your tank are set up for it. Highly recommended not to skimp on an automatic top off system (recommend an AquaHub kit or Ultralife kit + an Aqua Lifter pump) and plan to add a doser ($30-$80 these days) if you decide you like LPS or SPS - it's very inexpensive in the long run and I promise you will thank me for it. Varying salinity and other parameters isn't good for most inhabitants, but particularly not stony coral.

Some thoughts:
Do you really like the varied shapes and colors of SPS coral such as Montipora and Acropora?