Best Care Ideas for Zoas

Seagars

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i am new to saltwater and just building my coral collection. Zoas are next as i need soem rock cover and love the colors, but what is the feeding or care instruction relative to other corals?
thanks for love the help and site.

reelsilly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Its a little hard to get most zoas to "close up" on the foods. If you make a home made food, you can blend it really small. Cyclopese is a good choice, brine shrimp is good as well. I use Reef Nutrition products for my tank and LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the Oyster Feast and Phyto Feast.

tj51

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 on blending. I put a small cube of oyster eggs, rods, cyclopeze, and baby brine and blend the crap out of it. I keep the pumps on for a few seconds to scatter the cloud, and then turn off all flow and let the little particles float down to the zoas. I guess when they get a particle they close to eat it as I see see polys opening and closing

ca2or

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nonsense....kill all flow...get baster....mysis....and feed. I never had an issue with any zoanthid target feeding in this fashion....its flow of almost any sort that make it hard as zoas don't feed like that IME.

ca2or

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To answer the question as I believe you are asking its like this....everything sps likes zoas don't....sps likes clean water....zoas dirty....sps high light....most zoas will do OK in either.....some thrive in high others in low. Really depends on species.....there is really no need to feed....they feed themselves from your water and light.....I guess rule of thumb is mid tank and down and low to medium flow.

tj51

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0