10" rodi membrane 200 gpd

OP
OP
K

kenand

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
195
Reaction score
27
Location
plant city
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you post a picture of your entire unit? Where is the DI canister? DI resin will need the most frequent changing to keep TDS at or near 0
Is this pic ok?
 

Attachments

  • 17089078882988180673723211743617.jpg
    17089078882988180673723211743617.jpg
    200.5 KB · Views: 26

Lbrdsoxfan

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
5,065
Reaction score
8,029
Location
Long Beach, CA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is a RO unit not an RO/DI unit.

Do you know how old the membranes are? Depending on your source water 15 TDS out of the membrane may be the best you will get out of it without adding a DI canister after.
This. I don't think the OP has ran resin or regularly tested it. I agree the 15ppm is gonna be about as good as it gets without resin. I run a single membrane 150gpd setup and I get about the same tds (10-15 tds) after the 4 stage and before the DI. I have between 330-350 tds coming into the 1st stage.
 

Opus

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
4,424
Reaction score
2,988
Location
North Texas
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The 3 filters you changed aren't going to do anything for the tds. The 2 you didn't change are the ones that lower tds. The issue you most likely have is the fact the first ro membrane is feeding the second membrane. This means the "bad" water out of the first unit goes into the second unit, so it much higher tds than the first membrane gets. There is no way for us to know if the 15 out you are seeing is ok. We would need to know the tds of the water that is flowing into the second membrane. Also, you should be testing the tds of the water coming out into a clean cup, not your storage container.
 

Opus

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
4,424
Reaction score
2,988
Location
North Texas
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This. I don't think the OP has ran resin or regularly tested it. I agree the 15ppm is gonna be about as good as it gets without resin. I run a single membrane 150gpd setup and I get about the same tds (10-15 tds) after the 4 stage and before the DI. I have between 330-350 tds coming into the 1st stage.
I just switched over to a 150gpd membrane and I'm getting 7tds out with the same tds as you coming in. I decided to take the hit and wanted more water faster. My old 90gpd membrane was 2 to 3 tds out.
 
OP
OP
K

kenand

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
195
Reaction score
27
Location
plant city
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is a RO unit not an RO/DI unit.

Do you know how old the membranes are? Depending on your source water 15 TDS out of the membrane may be the best you will get out of it without adding a DI canister after.
So what is it? My son doesn't understand why is not. Could you elaborate?
 

Lbrdsoxfan

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
5,065
Reaction score
8,029
Location
Long Beach, CA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just switched over to a 150gpd membrane and I'm getting 7tds out with the same tds as you coming in. I decided to take the hit and wanted more water faster. My old 90gpd membrane was 2 to 3 tds out.
Main reason why I'm running a 150gpd as well, was willing to take a slight tds hit to put out just at 7 gallons a hour. I think I was at 5 or so tds with a 100 gpd membrane. I know I'm battling chloramine and a bit of hard water so I burn through mixed bed DI a bit fast(er) and I'm not using a dow branded membrane (IIRC 96 or 97 percent efficiency with the membranes I use) but meh... I'm not too worried about it, It works.
 
OP
OP
K

kenand

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
195
Reaction score
27
Location
plant city
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The 3 filters you changed aren't going to do anything for the tds. The 2 you didn't change are the ones that lower tds. The issue you most likely have is the fact the first ro membrane is feeding the second membrane. This means the "bad" water out of the first unit goes into the second unit, so it much higher tds than the first membrane gets. There is no way for us to know if the 15 out you are seeing is ok. We would need to know the tds of the water that is flowing into the second membrane. Also, you should be testing the tds of the water coming out into a clean cup, not your storage container.
I'm doing it into a clean up. I just ordered the 2 membrane filters. Thanks fir the help.
 

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,132
Reaction score
4,007
Location
MHK
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just switched over to a 150gpd membrane and I'm getting 7tds out with the same tds as you coming in. I decided to take the hit and wanted more water faster. My old 90gpd membrane was 2 to 3 tds out.

How old was your old one? If i remember correct it is very old.
 
OP
OP
K

kenand

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
195
Reaction score
27
Location
plant city
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How old was your old one? If i remember correct it is very old.
More than a year. But us this a ro or a rodi? It just reads ro or does that matter?
 

Attachments

  • 17089531291884827363230712996428.jpg
    17089531291884827363230712996428.jpg
    132.7 KB · Views: 17

Jamie814

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
289
Reaction score
260
Location
43°17'29.7"N 91°47'49.0"W
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
More than a year. But us this a ro or a rodi? It just reads ro or does that matter?
Like previously mentioned That is a RO unit it does not have the DI canister, but it is easy to add DI to it.

 

Jamie814

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
289
Reaction score
260
Location
43°17'29.7"N 91°47'49.0"W
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
200 gpd membrane:
If they have 2 membranes on the unit and it is a 200 gpd unit, don't they need two 100 gpd membranes?

Wouldn't they need to change the flow restrictors as well if they change both membranes to 200 gpd making the unit 400 gpd?
 

Buckeye Hydro

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
1,387
Reaction score
935
Location
Ohio
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Using two 200 gpd membranes on a residential scale system is a non-starter. Don't even try it.

The tubing, fittings, housing ports are too small, and the flow is too much for itty bitty 10" x 2.5" prefilters.
 

SteveMM62Reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
2,235
Reaction score
1,430
Location
La Plata
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Main reason why I'm running a 150gpd as well, was willing to take a slight tds hit to put out just at 7 gallons a hour. I think I was at 5 or so tds with a 100 gpd membrane. I know I'm battling chloramine and a bit of hard water so I burn through mixed bed DI a bit fast(er) and I'm not using a dow branded membrane (IIRC 96 or 97 percent efficiency with the membranes I use) but meh... I'm not too worried about it, It works.
Are you doing an After Flush by opening the Valve that came with your RO? Also you need to do a Start Flush by adding a Valve after the Clean Side of your RO, Flush from that point for about a minute, close and Slowly open your Final Valve to keep your DI Canisters full of Water. Chloramine just loves air to activate.
 

Caring for your picky eaters: What do you feed your finicky fish?

  • Live foods

    Votes: 46 29.1%
  • Frozen meaty foods

    Votes: 121 76.6%
  • Soft pellets

    Votes: 33 20.9%
  • Masstick (or comparable)

    Votes: 13 8.2%
  • Other

    Votes: 13 8.2%
Back
Top