3 gal pico frag tank DIY build

dansyr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! This is journaling progress of a new pico build playing with one of @Tenecor Aquariums new pico frag tanks. Thread where the idea came up (not mine, another R2R member) that got pitched to Tenecor who generously made a test batch of these being EXTREMELY accommodating of feedback throughout the process. All acrylic pieces to be joined with solvent. I've had some experience building with acrylic making baffles, patching sumps, and ATO systems but not yet a display tank so this is a fun challenge to see if i can keep it somewhat aesthetic.

Dimensions are 11 x 11 x 6", so just over 3 gallons. It's drilled for a sump, I'm planning a similar dimension display refugium but currently just working with a little 1 gal container to hold rocks and equipment.

OP
OP
dansyr

dansyr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
While waiting on the tank to send out, I started on the stand. Stand dimensions are 14 x 14 x 12" high. It's a variation of the "common" DIY, with a box on top, sitting on legs, but the legs on the bottom are only tied together on 3 sides, with a drawer in the middle. all 1 x 2's skinned with underlayment.

Top box:
IMG_5525.jpg

Frame put together, basically from the back:
IMG_5526.jpg

Partially skinned:
IMG_5527.jpg

And right after staining (drawer not yet attached as currently on 4th coat of marine spar varnish):
IMG_5549.jpg

OP
OP
dansyr

dansyr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0