Algae ID help

AUMech

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m currently battling a Aptasia outbreak and noticed this green algae. Anyone knows what it is? I’m still learning and have about given up am dealing with this Aptasia.

IMG_2136.jpeg

IMG_2135.jpeg

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Any idea on how to get rid of it?
I am not sure as I have never had this particular algae before. Though my go to strategy for algae is manually remove what you can, introduce CUC that will hopefully eat it (emerald crabs and pitho crabs), and keep water clean.

all that said I think the aptasia is the bigger issue. You mentioned being about ready to give up on the aptasia? What have you tried so far?

OP
OP
A

AUMech

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not sure as I have never had this particular algae before. Though my go to strategy for algae is manually remove what you can, introduce CUC that will hopefully eat it (emerald crabs and pitho crabs), and keep water clean.

all that said I think the aptasia is the bigger issue. You mentioned being about ready to give up on the aptasia? What have you tried so far?
I tried chemicals at first and now have turned to Berghia. They are slowly reducing it but it has spread to the back wall and sand bed. Not sure if I should do a total tear down at this point.

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I tried chemicals at first and now have turned to Berghia. They are slowly reducing it but it has spread to the back wall and sand bed. Not sure if I should do a total tear down at this point.
I was going to suggest Berghia, shame that hasn't worked for you are is not working fast enough. I wonder if other aptasia eating critters like peppermint shrimp and aptasia eating files can cohabitate with the berghia?