Aquarium Upgrade from Red Sea Reefer 200xl G2 to Red Sea Reefer Peninsula 500 G2+

BR260354

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2022
Messages
120
Reaction score
60
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In this thread, I will be documenting my journey on doing an aquarium upgrade that happens to be in the same location. I have the perfect location for the aquarium. I will be using the “Official Sand Rinse and Tank Transfer thread” method - https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/official-sand-rinse-and-tank-transfer-thread.230281/

Current location and existing Red Sea 200xl G2:
1714007971605.jpeg


The wall behind the tank is a return air space. In there I have most of the equipment, ATO reservoir, and external refugium supporting the tank. I built it in anticipation of a future larger tank. This is an older picture.
1714008004901.jpeg


On the other side of that room is my external refugium and ATO reservoir.

Current Equipment:
Controller: Hydros – X4, X2, WEv2, Kraken, XP8 for the main tank. X2 and XS for mixing station.
Pumps: Two VarioS4 – one for return and one to push from the sump to the external display.
Rest of the sump area: ReefMat 500, RSK300 (with DC upgrade), Aqua UV 15w, ReefDose4, Helios heater controller with two 200w elements.

In the display: Two Octo-Pulse 2, Radion XR15 G6, and TopLids.

Future Equipment:
Aquarium: Red Sea Reefer Peninsula 500 G2+
Controllers: Using existing.
Pumps: Decided to go with the ReefRun 7000 – two of them for the return. I have an existing ReefRun 5000 that will be repurposed to push to the external refugium.
Rest of the sump: Reusing the ReefMat 500, RSK300, ReefDose4. Will be upgrading the UV to either a Aqua UV 25w or perhaps the Triton 550. Purchased a new Helios controller and elements. The elements are about due for replacement anyway.

In the display: Going with the AI Blades 48” – 2 Grow, 1 Glow. Two Octo-Pulse 4’s, but will also reuse the Octo-Pulse 2’s for some additional flow in the lower levels. I will also go with TopLids again.

Other info – I have setup AWC using a couple of Ecotech Versa’s – water in, water out at the same time. Doing 6000ml a day. I also have a couple of Kamoer Steppers to autofill the ATO reservoir.

Where am I going​

Since I am putting the new tank in the same location, lots of planning is required. As of now, I have a 78-step plan. This plan is broken out into three sections – Ordering of new equipment, rock, temp holding tank, etc.; Dismantling of the existing tank; Setup and move into the new tank.

Step 1 of my plan is to ask permission to upgrade or proceed to step 3 which is beg for forgiveness after step 2 where I am ordering equipment. Luckily, I got permission from the better half!
1714008086939.jpeg


One of my first steps was to purchase temporary holding tank for existing livestock. For this I picked up a 29g Aqueon with a HOB filter as my holding tank.

Should be enough to handle my rock, corals, inverts, and fish during the transfer. In the second section of my plan, I will fill half of the 29g with fresh saltwater with the remainder coming from the existing tank once I have the rock relocated.

I picked up some egg grates and frag plugs for my corals to be relocated.

Equipment:
For lighting, I will be mounting with the AI Blade hanging kit; however, I will be using 8020 to float above the new setup. Thanks to @Reefer Reboot for helping with the design!

Widen the hole for the 5/16 bolt assembly:
1714008152207.jpeg


Below is part of the mount with the aluminum color to be mounted on the wall and the black 1515LS attached via bearings so I can move the lights up and down.
1714008172562.jpeg


Pumps: I currently run VarioS4 for my return pump. I will be going with two ReefRun 7000. More on that setup later when I discuss plumbing in coming updates to this thread.

As for the new aquarium, I have not ordered it just yet. Waiting to see if there will be any sales soon. Also, since I am in the middle of a master bath remodel, I promised not to really start on anything until that is complete. There are many things to do before that anyway.

While I will be moving the rock from the existing setup, it won’t be enough on the new. On steps 17 and 18 of my master plan is the purchase and setup of Marco rock for my new ‘scape. What I pretty much landed on….for now:

A group of corals on a cardboard floor  Description automatically generated
A group of white rocks on a cardboard surface  Description automatically generated
1714008208085.jpeg


The middle mount will probably be replaced with the rock coming from the existing tank, just in a different format. Have to play with it. Feedback is always welcome.

This weekend I plan to start gluing some pieces together. My plan was to pre-cycle the marco rock. This might be unnecessary, but I figured it also couldn’t hurt AND I have some time.

More to come….
 

Gumbies R Us

Certified Noob
View Badges
Joined
Nov 10, 2022
Messages
11,060
Reaction score
20,815
Location
North Georgia
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In this thread, I will be documenting my journey on doing an aquarium upgrade that happens to be in the same location. I have the perfect location for the aquarium. I will be using the “Official Sand Rinse and Tank Transfer thread” method - https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/official-sand-rinse-and-tank-transfer-thread.230281/

Current location and existing Red Sea 200xl G2:
1714007971605.jpeg


The wall behind the tank is a return air space. In there I have most of the equipment, ATO reservoir, and external refugium supporting the tank. I built it in anticipation of a future larger tank. This is an older picture.
1714008004901.jpeg


On the other side of that room is my external refugium and ATO reservoir.

Current Equipment:
Controller: Hydros – X4, X2, WEv2, Kraken, XP8 for the main tank. X2 and XS for mixing station.
Pumps: Two VarioS4 – one for return and one to push from the sump to the external display.
Rest of the sump area: ReefMat 500, RSK300 (with DC upgrade), Aqua UV 15w, ReefDose4, Helios heater controller with two 200w elements.

In the display: Two Octo-Pulse 2, Radion XR15 G6, and TopLids.

Future Equipment:
Aquarium: Red Sea Reefer Peninsula 500 G2+
Controllers: Using existing.
Pumps: Decided to go with the ReefRun 7000 – two of them for the return. I have an existing ReefRun 5000 that will be repurposed to push to the external refugium.
Rest of the sump: Reusing the ReefMat 500, RSK300, ReefDose4. Will be upgrading the UV to either a Aqua UV 25w or perhaps the Triton 550. Purchased a new Helios controller and elements. The elements are about due for replacement anyway.

In the display: Going with the AI Blades 48” – 2 Grow, 1 Glow. Two Octo-Pulse 4’s, but will also reuse the Octo-Pulse 2’s for some additional flow in the lower levels. I will also go with TopLids again.

Other info – I have setup AWC using a couple of Ecotech Versa’s – water in, water out at the same time. Doing 6000ml a day. I also have a couple of Kamoer Steppers to autofill the ATO reservoir.

Where am I going​

Since I am putting the new tank in the same location, lots of planning is required. As of now, I have a 78-step plan. This plan is broken out into three sections – Ordering of new equipment, rock, temp holding tank, etc.; Dismantling of the existing tank; Setup and move into the new tank.

Step 1 of my plan is to ask permission to upgrade or proceed to step 3 which is beg for forgiveness after step 2 where I am ordering equipment. Luckily, I got permission from the better half!
1714008086939.jpeg


One of my first steps was to purchase temporary holding tank for existing livestock. For this I picked up a 29g Aqueon with a HOB filter as my holding tank.

Should be enough to handle my rock, corals, inverts, and fish during the transfer. In the second section of my plan, I will fill half of the 29g with fresh saltwater with the remainder coming from the existing tank once I have the rock relocated.

I picked up some egg grates and frag plugs for my corals to be relocated.

Equipment:
For lighting, I will be mounting with the AI Blade hanging kit; however, I will be using 8020 to float above the new setup. Thanks to @Reefer Reboot for helping with the design!

Widen the hole for the 5/16 bolt assembly:
1714008152207.jpeg


Below is part of the mount with the aluminum color to be mounted on the wall and the black 1515LS attached via bearings so I can move the lights up and down.
1714008172562.jpeg


Pumps: I currently run VarioS4 for my return pump. I will be going with two ReefRun 7000. More on that setup later when I discuss plumbing in coming updates to this thread.

As for the new aquarium, I have not ordered it just yet. Waiting to see if there will be any sales soon. Also, since I am in the middle of a master bath remodel, I promised not to really start on anything until that is complete. There are many things to do before that anyway.

While I will be moving the rock from the existing setup, it won’t be enough on the new. On steps 17 and 18 of my master plan is the purchase and setup of Marco rock for my new ‘scape. What I pretty much landed on….for now:

A group of corals on a cardboard floor  Description automatically generated
A group of white rocks on a cardboard surface  Description automatically generated
1714008208085.jpeg


The middle mount will probably be replaced with the rock coming from the existing tank, just in a different format. Have to play with it. Feedback is always welcome.

This weekend I plan to start gluing some pieces together. My plan was to pre-cycle the marco rock. This might be unnecessary, but I figured it also couldn’t hurt AND I have some time.

More to come….
You are going to love the 500 G2+ tank! Aquascape looks good too!
 
OP
OP
BR260354

BR260354

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2022
Messages
120
Reaction score
60
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hows that controller system, im very interested in it.
Hydros? Great. No issues. I actually started with an Apex Jr. The few sensors I had on that didn't last long. That was one of the reasons why I switched.

So, yeah, I went all in on Hydros. The Kraken is cool for ditching all those power bricks which helped clean up wiring. The WaveEngine is nice as well again for the power brick removal and controllers....if you use certain pumps. I am moving to RR7000 for the new setup but I'm adding more flow pumps to take those ports on the WaveEngine.

Hydros has been very reliable for me. If you have something specific, let me know.
 
OP
OP
BR260354

BR260354

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2022
Messages
120
Reaction score
60
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't updated in a while because I'm still in the planning and gathering phase. Also, waiting for a possible sale on the Red Sea, which I may not see anytime soon, and I'm ALMOST done with our bathroom remodel, AND I have to now wait to make any changes after my daughters baby shower that my wife is planning, which will be in late June. That kinda takes priority. :grinning-face:
Either way, I will be ordering around July 4th unless there is a sale beforehand.

I did pick up a Ecoflow Delta 2 power station. I already have a 100ah battery on the Kraken, but devices connected to the Kraken will drop to 12v on power outage. Pumps will work at half speed. However, some equipment may not or future. I decided to add the Ecoflow. To take advantage of the power station and the battery on the Kraken, I setup another mode - Ecoflow - a mode before low power. Utilizing the 0-10v In port on the X4, I setup a USB connection to a power source to detect power loss. Here's a reference - https://forum.coralvuehydros.com/th...detection-w-o-icecap-battery-or-we-wele.1428/
I have the Kraken and XP8 plugged into the power station. When the USB (plugged into a wall outlet) loses power, it will shut off lights, dosers, skimmer, etc. basically anything except my returns and wave makers...and controllers. If I use up all the capacity of the power station, the system will detect it is on Kraken battery and drop to 12v. I'll still have the wave pumps.
At this time, the current aquarium runs around 155w mid-day. When I just leave the wave pumps and returns running, my power drops to 55w. At that rate, the Ecoflow is estimated to run for over 13 hours. That should work.

Next I'll be working on the fan setup for the new aquarium.
 
OP
OP
BR260354

BR260354

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2022
Messages
120
Reaction score
60
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With the Memorial Day sale – 12% off, ordered the aquarium! Our bathroom remodel is finally done but we are hosting my daughter’s baby shower, so I can’t build and take the current tank down. That would be frowned upon. It’s ok, plenty of other things to do to prepare.

Fans
For my current setup, I’m using two 120mm 5v fans with 3D printed mounting on the XR15 arm.
IMG_2124.jpeg



For the new setup, I’m going to use three 140mm 12v fans and mount on a GoPro type mount and attach to an 8020 rail that will attach to the light bar in the original post. It will be powered by a Kraken drive port and triggered on the temperature of the display.
IMG_2125.jpeg



Pretty much all other equipment has been received. Ordered an Ozone reactor from ClearTides, which should be arriving this week. Only thing left to order is a lid. I have TopLids on my 200xl…figured I would order from them again. Just need to wait for the tank to come in to get the proper measurements.
Box of stuff...
IMG_2126.jpeg


More to come….
 

How much do you care about having a display FREE of wires, pumps and equipment?

  • Want it squeaky clean! Wires be danged!

    Votes: 38 43.7%
  • A few things are ok with me!

    Votes: 43 49.4%
  • No care at all! Bring it on!

    Votes: 6 6.9%
Back
Top