Bullet 3 protein skimmer

Novsublime

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater aquarium and I have had my 55 gallon tank going for 5 weeks now. I added to clownfish a week ago. I just put on the bullet 3 protein skimmer and it’s just creating a lot of micro bubbles and the skim cup is just filling with water and overflowing. Is this just normal breaking in or is it something else. Thanks! Hopefully someone has some experience with this

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's fairly normal for skimmers to overflow and create tons of micro bubbles when you first set them up. I don't have hands-on experience with this particular model, but you'll want to try adjusting a combination of the water flow and air. On most skimmers you typically want it bubbling foam below the bottom of the collection cup (over time it will build up some skim on the neck and make it easier for the foam to travel upwards).

AjayCray

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater aquarium and I have had my 55 gallon tank going for 5 weeks now. I added to clownfish a week ago. I just put on the bullet 3 protein skimmer and it’s just creating a lot of micro bubbles and the skim cup is just filling with water and overflowing. Is this just normal breaking in or is it something else. Thanks! Hopefully someone has some experience with this
Hey, did you ever solve this? I'm trying to set mine up atm and the collection cup fills up so quick and overflowing as well!!

OP
OP
N

Novsublime

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, did you ever solve this? I'm trying to set mine up atm and the collection cup fills up so quick and overflowing as well!!
Unfortunately I didn’t. I ended up returning it after a couple attempts. I was told to just let it go for a few days and it would break in but I gave it 48 hours and between the micro bubbles and overflowing I just didn’t think it was worth the trouble.