Diatoms question

danieljones8623

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there,
So, I guess I’m having the same issue a lot of others have when starting a tank. I have, pretty sure anyway, diatoms. I is RODI water and I’m assuming it mostly due to me not rinsing my sand off and having a large amount of silicates still. That being said, I’ve read that it’ll likely take time for the silicates to be depleted from my system in order to fix the situation. My question is, what causes the silicate to be depleted? Through regular water changes? Scraping the glass and the diatoms being skimmed?

boacvh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not an expert but a picture may help to see if its diatoms or something else, but diatoms are a pretty normal stage for a new tank.
My understanding is yes, all of the above will help. The diatoms themselves "consume" the silicates to build their cells and as they get consumed or exported the silicates will get depleted. WCs will help reduce silicates as long as your WC doesn't have higher silicates. If your RODI is working properly you should be ok on that. GFO also removes silicates.
However, if its indeed diatoms, I say just let it take its course, no major harm will come from them and part of ugly stages to get to a balanced tank anyway, so I would just be patient. FWIW I actually dose silicates in my tank now after I had a short fight with dinos.
Experts will chime in soon though.

OP
OP
D

danieljones8623

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0