Expected salinity increase

chimbo84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   1   0
I just started my first saltwater tank six days ago. It is a 14g Fluval Evo. I have a lot of experience in freshwater aquariums so I started a salt tank for a new challenge.

The problem I seem to have is my salinity variability every day. I have a monitoring system that I built for monitoring pH, temp, and EC in my freshwater tanks and it records all three parameters every 60 seconds. I am seeing a 0.5ppt increase in salinity every three hours and this is with a fully enclosed lid on the tank (see graph below). For example, this morning at 0930 it measured 31.28ppt and just now at 1230 it measured 31.79ppt (I know its a little low but I'm having trouble stabilizing it).

I do not have an ATO yet but I am wondering if this amount of increase seems normal or if there might be something wrong with my EC probe. I have calibrated it recently. The probe is currently measuring:
EC : 48730 uS/cm
TDS : 26318
Salinity: 31.82ppt
SG: 1.024

For reference I am seeing roughly 1/3gal of evaporation a day. Not much at all.

1605289731145.png

Dom

Full Time Reef Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As you mentioned, you don't have ATO. And ATO will help stabilize all water chemistry and not just salinity.

You are talking about a 1/2 point swing in salinity. Is there any way to test to that level of accuracy on the hobby level?

RobB'z Reef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0