Fighting or pairing? New to clowns help me out :D

quik95lt1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm new to salt tanks, new to R2R as well got some great info here so far! What I have is a 47 gallon column with 50lbs LR and 40lbs live sand, well scaped for what I think with caves and hiding spots/tunnels. I have a snowflake ocellaris that has been in the tank since it cycled about 8 weeks ago who is around 1 1/4" long or so, quite peaceful fish from what I gather. So last Monday we decided to get him/her a partner, knowing the snowflake was alone in our tank for 7 weeks and alone in the tank at the LFS for a bit before we bought it I said why take a chance on it already being female and we bought a small juvie out of the LFS tank that was in with about 20 other clowns (this fish a conventional ocellaris). When we put the new one in they were best friends after about 3 hours, sleeping together, hanging out the whole deal. On Friday I noticed a bit of bickering maybe once or twice a day near feeding time but nothing major. Over the weekend they were mainly ok but this am they got in two pretty good scuffles during feeding and I noticed they were sleeping in different spots over the weekend and hanging out during the day in two opposite sides of the tank out of view from each other. Is this just part of the normal pairing thing or is there anything to worry about? I don't know how much "fighting" is fighting or is considered dominance fighting for sexing themselves? I do see both of the fish doing the sideways seizure motion which I assume is a good thing with pairing, but just looking for input. It was just odd to me that they went from great to having scuffles with each other after a week. I know two females will fight but I really cant see how the new one is a female, I highly doubt the first one is even a female at its size.........any info would be great!!

Thanks!!
Mike

jeremy.gosnell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%