Giesemann Aurora V8 review

Viking_Reefing

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been running this fixture for the past 8 months I think has been flying under the radar, at least in the US, so I thought I would do a write up about my experiences with it. This can also serve as a reference as I fairly frequently get asked about my opinions of it.

1657886984546.jpeg

For clarities sake I must mention that I was given this light by Giesemann to try out, but it was under the condition that I’m free to share my experiences with it, both good and bad which they didn’t have a problem with.

There are several Aurora V8’s: 900, 1200 and 1500mm ones. The one I’m using is the 1500mm Pro version which contains an extra LED puck bringing the total to 5 pucks instead of 4 and the overall output of it to 1100w.

It also has 8 80W T5 bulbs with individual reflectors.

1657887033052.jpeg

The control portion of the light is done through their new Lync app which is a nice improvement against the previous control programs which couldn’t be used if you had an Iphone so you were forced to use a computer and the application itself wasn’t in all honestly the best.

The Lync app is an overall good experience, easy to get the hang of and straight forward in programming the light schedule.

1657887212472.jpeg

The two negatives I find is that it cannot be used in landscape mode on your phone which can make certain stuff a bit to small for my liking and the fact that I don’t fully agree with how the total power percentage is calculated:
The app has 10 channels that can be controlled individually (6 LED / 4 T5 groups) and can be set between 0-120% (overdriving the T5’s/LED’s). The thing is that the curve just shows the highest channel. So you could have 9 out of the 10 channels turned off and one at 100% and it will still show as being at 100% and not 10% which, from my POV, is the correct way to display it.