help a beginner...please

chansman

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first sw tank so I'm a newbie :-D

I'm picking up an established 75 Saturday that comes with a purple tang, yellow tang, and clown...looks like a tomato. It also has a flower pot anemone and some mushrooms. I'll slowly add some coral and stuff. Can you guys help me select a few fish?

The purple is a good sized fish maybe 5-6", the yellow maybe 4-5". I've read where it's not good to keep more than one tang together so I'll obviously be keeping the purple. The tomato should prolly go as well right?

My first addition to go in will be a couple of Ocellaris Clowns. The wife and kids will like to see tons of activity and color. What do you guys recommend for a goby or blenny? I will need something for pest control, I guess, what the best wrasse for a beginner? Then I think I'll drop a few Chromis in there. Does that sound ok or should I consider something else?

I'm fortunate that my lfs guy is awesome so he'll help but I'm the guy that has to research everything...it's ridiculous...lol!

SeahorseKeeper

Where's the mysis?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You may want to consider on trading in the purple tang as well. Giving its size, it may be pretty (most likely) aggressive and not accepting of new additions. Typically, you would want to start with the least aggressive additions first and then add the more aggressive fish last. This helps get the least aggressive fish adjusted and comfortable in the tank and the aggressive fish adapt to the new environment. Occellaris clowns make a great first addition. I have a starry blenny that is full of personality. He is pretty active and is fun to watch. He even chomps on my arm when I put it in the tank.

What pests do you need to keep in control in your tank? I recommend keeping a mesh or egg crate top on the tank if you plan on keeping wrasses. They are notorious jumpers.

revsgirl