HELP PLS... Nitrates & Phosphates

Ulm_nano_diybudgetreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,

Potentially a silly question as I'm new in the hobby...

I'm just finishing a fishless cycle now but my nitrates and phosphates r still a bit high. Does that prevent me from adding some CUC and fish? Or does the nitrates & phosphates only affect corals?

Thanks in advance.

OP
OP
Ulm_nano_diybudgetreef

Ulm_nano_diybudgetreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your nitrate and phosphate levels?
Last week 22nd July, I tested and got the following:
- nitrates 50ppm
- nitrites 0.15ppm
- phosphates 0.01ppm
These were all done at LFS

I bought the test kits and did a 50% water change on 24th July.

I tested today at home and got the following:
- nitrates 50ppm
- phosphates 0.5ppm

I can understand that the nitrates stayed the same as there was still nitrites that had to be converted, but the phosphates is really puzzling me to have increased by 50 times. It could be the brand of test kit or my poor skills doing it first time. I did test phosphates twice and doubled the test sample for better accuracy.

Futuretotm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
After my cycle my
nitrates were 50
phosphates at .4
Added cuc and more

again it’s my first time as well
I started awc every other day

Dosed vibrant and added chaeto to target N
Dosed Lanthanum to target P (seaklear 1cc = reduction by 0.1ppm in 140gallon tank, dosed into 5 micro sock) did this multiple times over multiple days to bring my P to 0.05

there are multitudes of ways to deal with the issue, choose something, research the heck out of it and then proceed And experiment.

OP
OP
Ulm_nano_diybudgetreef

Ulm_nano_diybudgetreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any algae growing? Want to share a pic of your tank? How did you cycle your tank?

No algae, had some film gunk growing which I cleaned when i did the water change.