High Calcium and Alkalinity, New to reef keeping

DGGuaglianone

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all I’m new to reefing this is my first tank. I tested my parameters today Calcium was 520 ppm, Alkalinity was 16 dKH, nitrates were 5.0 ppm, and phosphate 0.25 ppm using API Reef Master test kit. My tank is 6 months old with a conch, 5 snails, 2 fire shrimp, 2 yellow sponges, 2 montipora, 2 birds nest, a leptosaris, candy cane, Duncan, 4 hammers, 2 frogspawn, a micromusa, 2 favia, and a colony of Rasta zoanthids (all small frags 1-4 heads). I dose 800 mL of very low concentration Kalkwasser over night (1/4tsp to 5 gal RODI water). Light schedule is 9-9 on an ai blade grow. My question is should I take measures to lower my calcium and alkalinity before I burn my corals or just let things play out? Any advice or comments are appreciated, good or bad, thanks.
image.jpg
image.jpg image.jpg

hexcolor reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Edited:
Just seen you dose Kalkwasser, that raises your Alk so I can see the issue. You may feel you have diluted the solution enough but you want to stop dosing Kalk until you get water parameters in check. 800ml is a lot to dose in 24hrs. I would bring that way down to 50ml depending on exact ratio

You may want to double check calcium and ALK levels again or take a water sample to LFS to have them run an electronic test.
I say this because it would be odd to have such high calcium while Alk is still 16dkh.
If Calcium is at 500+ then ALK should be around 11-12DKH or lower as calcium can bring Alk down and vise versa.
Do you use tap water in your tank?

Also you can dose more calcium to bring your Alk down, or dose a 2 part calcium/Alk system or All for Reef solution which balances out your Alk and calcium

Last edited:

Reefahholic

Acropora Farmer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0