How often do you tweak your alk dosing?

hllb

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 32g biocube mixed reef. I’ve been dosing alk and cal for almost 2 months now. The dose for calcium was pretty easy to get right but alk doesn’t seem to be as easy.
I started at 5 ml daily (Red Sea foundation liquid). A couple of weeks later I upped it to 7.4 ml per day. I’m pretty sure I upped it a bit after that too though I didn’t track it. Alk was getting too high so I reduced it on 12/13 to 7 ml per day. The alk has gone up slightly since then (alk was 9.8 today - I’m trying to keep it at 9.0).

is this normal? Is this something I need to continually tweak? When dosing, when is the best time to test? I’m currently dosing 3 times a day. For now, I dropped my dosing to 5.9 ml a day to hopefully slowly bring my alk down. Once I get it back to 9, I can tweak the dosing again.

image.jpg

cloak

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How often do you do water changes? Maybe stop dosing and find a baseline with the water changes? Sometimes the best thing is nothing at all. Keep up with the water changes though. (if need be) Develop a routine and go from there. Stability is key. GL.

OP
OP
hllb

hllb

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How often do you do water changes? Maybe stop dosing and find a baseline with the water changes? Sometimes the best thing is nothing at all. Keep up with the water changes though. Develop a routine and go from there. GL. (stability)
I have been doing wc’s once a month (due to low nutrients) but plan to step that up to every other week now that my nutrients are where I want them (nitrates 5, po4 .035). My water mixes to alk of 9 though so shouldn’t affect my dosing once I get it straightened out. Last Sunday alk went from 9.7 to 9.6 after a 4 or 5 g wc.

Crustaceon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0