How to frag this coral

Alexjones.aj99

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, this coral is getting rather large for my tank and I am just looking for advice on if I would like to frag it how to go about that? I’ve never done it before, do I just cut one of the arms off, if so is there a length to do it, closer to the base farther from it. Any advice helps thank you.

((FORDTECH))

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, this coral is getting rather large for my tank and I am just looking for advice on if I would like to frag it how to go about that? I’ve never done it before, do I just cut one of the arms off, if so is there a length to do it, closer to the base farther from it. Any advice helps thank you.
You probably would be best to send a picture of the Coral, so we see what you’re talking about

OP
OP
A

Alexjones.aj99

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_7140.jpeg

IKD

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
This may help

Aiden22!

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Leather corals are pretty resilient and can take some cutting. I would stay away from directly cutting the base but a finger should heal nicely.

acro-ed

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
These don’t like to stick well with super glue. I would suggest cutting it where two branches make a “V” (sharp scissors or razor blade) and then glue it onto a rock or plug and use a small rubber band and wrap it in the node and around the bottom of the plug. Hope this helps. Best of luck!

-Ed

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That one can be topped like a tree, and 2 of the 3 lowest branches removed to keep it under control.