I am thinking of using an inflatable kiddie pool for my salt water mixing.

Trsimo5348

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am extremely new to my hobby. By that I mean this is my first tank ever. I have spent the last 8 months researching the hobby and became more and more fascinated by the fact that is a combination of art, science, literally building and biome, and on top of that getting a bunch of really cool and interesting pets. Though I know there is much more for me to learn, my friend who has done the hobby for a while convinced me the only way I am going to learn is to just attempt. I bought a 125 tank, with about a 40 to maybe 35-gallon sump, a protein skimmer, etc. I am running vinegar and water through it at the moment, as I bought it all together used, and now I am cleaning it. I got my live rock formation glued together and ready to go, etc etc. to get to the point.

I bought a ro di system, which my friend helped me set up to my garden hose in my back yard for now, I rent my house so can't be drilling holes in pipes. lol We were trying to figure out if it was safe to take a cheap inflatable pool to run the ro di system to make the salt mix. is they safe for the water or will they contaminate it with toxins?

To give an idea of what we are considering here is a link from the one we were looking at on Amazon :

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can't see the link. For the fill put the RODI into the tank & sump and add salt, slowly until the new ocean is made.

Mixing in a 5 gallon bucket, or a 55 gallon drum, or a brute trash can is easier to store since you can put a lid over it. Otherwise, a hard sided kiddie pool(?) might last awhile and you can use it in summer in Phoenix when the weather gets warm.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

musaabi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0