Just joined and saying hello for the first time after a decade of "lurking"

Reefer1030

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I’m pretty new as a member here, though I’ve been lurking, reading and learning from this site for a long time. Finally decided to actually sign up a couple of weeks ago. Then received a welcome email a short while later suggesting I introduce myself in this forum, so here I am.

My name is Corey, I live just outside Toronto, Ontario and I’ve been keeping saltwater aquaria since 2009. I have seemingly a million interests/hobbies, but my other reef-related hobby is diving. For work I’m an advanced care paramedic and paramedic educator.

My current tank is a custom-built 227 litre (60 gallon) ish, corner aquarium with diamond front. It’s been wet since December. First livestock went in in February. I’m adding livestock very slowly. The goal is for it to be a mixed reef. I’ve started a build thread for it here. https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/coreys-227-l-corner-mixed-reef.632048/

As for my history in this hobby... I started in 2009 with a 38 litre (10 gallon) nano containing just a pair of clownfish hosting a bubble tip anemone along with some live rock. This was a barebones set-up, with HOB filter, powerhead and internal heater. I quickly upgraded slightly within a year to a 76 litre (20 gallon -still barebones-) tank, to which I added a frogspawn. This oddly caused my clownfish pair to get a divorce, as the male moved out and began hosting the frogspawn, while the female stayed in the anemone.