lighing MH 400w

TriMax

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was looking in the Docs summer sale items, thinking I might ought to should maybe get some new bulbs. All I have collected are used.

Do you like XM or Hamilton bulbs?

Do you dislike XM or Hamilton bulbs?

Thanks

GPhiAce

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience with either bulb, but I have seen some good tanks with 400w 20k lighting.

digidana

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
with the 14K or 10K bulbs you have to then use actinics to get the light to be 20K, don't you?

i use 400w 20k XMs, and everything is growing really well. i do also have actinics, but only use them for dusk/dawn. you can't even see them on with the XMs on.

i don't know anything about the hamiltons.

ct_vol

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I will be getting a pair of 250w XM 10K's... More so because of their ridiculous PAR rating than anything else...

mkenochm

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used to have 400 watt 20k on my tank and my corals grew like crazy. I don't know anything about the two brands that you listed.

cee

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was looking in the Docs summer sale items, thinking I might ought to should maybe get some new bulbs. All I have collected are used.

Do you like XM or Hamilton bulbs?

Do you dislike XM or Hamilton bulbs?

Thanks

Most of the tanks you see in Cali, or at least the people I've seen and/or spoken to, run 400 W Radiums on an overdriven ballast.

I will be getting a pair of 250w XM 10K's... More so because of their ridiculous PAR rating than anything else...

If you like any hint of blue you won't be happy. I dumped mine after a month or two. Your sticks will grow like mad though if you can avoid bleaching them.

ct_vol

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0