Lots going on, none of it good.

Cherie cook

Cherbear
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I get home from work last evening after working three 12 hour shifts over the weekend (I'm a nurse) and the first thing I do, as always, is look at the tank. Several things pop out at me...many corals closed up and looking angry, reddish brown stringy stuff everywhere and pH is 8.53 (normally at this time of day it would be 8 or just over). I know something is super wrong, I'm just not sure what yet. I'd had the protein skimmer off for a few days because I had epoxied some corals in place last week...so I figure it can't hurt to turn it back on and let it take stuff out of the water..of course it's still going nuts and taking out all kinds of water but I just diverted it into a pail and let it go. I figured I would just add makeup water and that would help things. Removed and replaced about 10-12 gal of water that way..it's an 80 gallon tank.
The pH was starting to slowly come down but I added a bit of vinegar just to help it along, not much...3 or 4ml. I blew algae or whatever it was off the corals with a turkey baster and would've liked to have siphoned some of it off the bottom and rocks, but I was just too beat. Ph was down to 8.3 by that time and I went to bed.
This morning the pH is ok at 8.1, quite a bit of the reddish brown stuff is gone but corals still looking pretty angry and upon having a closer look I believe they are expelling some of their zooxanthellae, though it's hard to tell because it looks a lot like the stringy stuff.
Time to do some testing...pH 8.11, temp 77.9, ammonia, nitrate are zero and nitrate is zero which I can't understand because I feed the fish quite heavily at least twice a day (frozen and sometimes a bit of masstick). Dkh is 7.8 and calcium is 504 and then 544! I checked it twice with the Hanna checker just to be sure. I have no way to test po4 at present but I did order a Hanna checker.