Ludnix's 14g Oceanic Biocube

ludnix

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Everyone! Here's my latest tank build that I'm just getting started on! I'll update with pictures as progress is made.

Here's the full tank and stand shot. It's the first day with live rock so the waters a little cloudy still but it's on it's way!

Tank info
I'm going to make this into a mixed reef with heavy emphasis on zoanthids, ricordeas, and few SPS thrown in.
  • Oceanic Biocube 14
  • 5lbs of rinsed sand
  • 7lbs of Fiji Live Rock
Heating:
  • Jager 50w Heater
Filtration:
  • Polyester Filter Foam
  • Live rock
  • upgrade to filter basket?
Lighting:

The Stand Build:

I started by cutting two 1x12 pine boards down to about 24" long. I used Titebond III and wood screws to mount the two boards onto the top.

In this shot you can see i'm testing the fit of the biocube on the boards I attached. I used a plunge router to bevel the edges and make it match the rest of the stand.

Painting the stand and replaced the old hardware with new brushed nickel versions.

In this picture you can see the smaller original stand top under the newly constructed one.

I drilled holes for the aluminum knobs I bought I radioshack. These tighten down on the potentiometer's posts and replace the stock rapid LED knobs.

Here's a view of the back of the stand. The Dimmable ballasts are mounted inside the back front panels, the potentiometers were mounted just above them through the wood.

The LED array:

This was an old light I had laying around, it just needed White LEDS added to it and the heatsink shortened a bit. I measured then cut the heatsink down with a hacksaw. Glued into the hood of the biocube with E6000, hopefully it sticks! It's 9 blue LEDs that are fairly old models, and 6 of the Rapid LEDs newer white leds. Each string of blue and white get's it's own Dimmable Driver from RapidLED.