My Clarkii Clown Journey (Picture heavy)!

Sailfin11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About 1.5 years ago, I got two small Clarkii clowns from Sustainable Aquatics (coralreeftn.com). Over that time, they have grown from yellow juveniles to a breeding pair! I wanted to document by journey with these fish and share what I learned. Here is a picture from when I first got them (pardon the poor quality):

1587680437125.png

I'm by no means a clownfish expert, but I did notice some changes in their behavior before they started breeding. Ever since I had gotten them, the female had been very aggressive towards the male and oftentimes chased him around the tank. In January, I moved a rock of anemones into the tank, and the female took to it within hours. However, she would not let the male go into them (even though there were about 15 RBTAs). This persisted for about a month. The family made jokes about her kicking him out, because the poor guy had to sleep by the overflow while she enjoyed their "rosy" home.

Out of the blue one day, I saw the male with her! It was exciting to see them together for a change! During the following weeks, I noticed that all of the chasing had stopped. After that, they really seemed like a pair. I'm not sure if that is an indicator of real pairing for all clowns, but it certainly was with mine!

1587681503222.png

On April 5, they had their first clutch. Somehow, even though I've never seen clownfish eggs before, I knew what they were. There weren't that many, those orange beads are hard to miss. For first time parents, they were quite doting and even kept those eggs safe from my "anemone resistant" six line wrasse (that fish literally dives into the nems unscathed) and coris wrasse.
1587682320806.png