Need help dealing with my first illness!

hoffmeyerz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new in the saltwater tank world. Had a 29gal in 2020 that didn't go well because of bad advice/direction from lfs. I've since learned a TON and am now 5 months into a new 75gal setup. It's been running perfectly and I've only been keeping four fish moved over from the 29gal, 2 clowns, royal Gramma, and a pajama cardinal along with a choc chip star and a couple hermit crabs.
I decided things were ok to add a fish and put in a bristle tooth tang. Things were great, I don't have any algae in the tank so I was putting in nori for the tang which it was eating.
About a week later I noticed it was hiding and not eating and died shortly after that. I was really bummed. I now noticed similar behavior in the royal Gramma and a clown. Their skin looked really rough and muted in color though. I think I'm dealing with brook but this morning they look worse and almost, but not quite, like marine ich.
I have never had to handle outbreaks before and there is so much conflicting info! I'm gathering gear for a qt tank. I'm thinking of doing a fw dip and moving them to the qt but very conflicted on treatment from there and how long to keep the dt fallow. I would really appreciate any advice!!

KIMG0907.JPG

Attachments

• KVID0912.mp4
    35.6 MB

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
To me this looks more like cryptocaryon than brook. But it could also be both. The fact that its lying on the bottom is also not a good sign. You could try Ruby Rally Pro - according to doseage OR copper if that is not available. I would get treatment started sooner than later. I would not use both medications together

OP
OP
hoffmeyerz

hoffmeyerz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0