Need some advice/help with Raising PH/ALk, and maybe adding moire trace elements such as iodine? Corals are looking brown?

David100

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a Pally that is currently looking a little browner than I would like and after some testing I have found I need to look into raising my PH, ALk and maybe dosing some iodine.
I am still fairly new to this hobby and im a little confused as there seems to be lots of ways to do this however the easiest I have seen seems to be the All for reef solution by TMC, which will dose trace elements like iodine, help raise my PH and alk and everything else in-between? It seems from the face of it to be the easiest and most economical option. I have a 130L tank so I was thinking of mixing 500Ml up and dosing 1Ml every few days and reviewing how the tank reacts?

Other alternatives I have seen are 2 part dosing, Kalkwasser and general PH/KH boosterlike Microbe Lift Complete KH&PH stabiliser which I found in my lfs.

I dont have a lot of corals, I have 2 Leathers, 1 hammer and 1 paly, everything else looks ok, but the pally looks a little brown, so id like to try and get my ph up and maybe dose some iodine in the all for reef solution that covers this or individually? as well as raise my PH/KH?

My current Params are:

KH: 6
PH 7.8
Salinity : 1.024-1.025
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate -20
Phos 0.050

Can anyone offer some advice? Specifically on if dosing All for reef in a system like this would help or if a different solution should be looked into? , or if iodine may help with the pally from browning off?

Would a Co2 Scrubber be a worthwhile investment while supplementing iodine to help the pally as a alternative to dosing?

Last edited:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0