'New' Overflow with Uniseals leaking, one of three holes isn't round. What are my options to seal?

October Sky

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've been building a tank for almost five years! I literally bought the overflow box first and my receipts say June 2017. I was trying to piece it together with purchases I found on sale, then life got in the way, and then COVID hit and I didn't finish. Over the last 3 weeks I finally got everything together only to learn one of my overflow drain holes isn't perfectly round, so there's a leak (just tried a new Uniseal, it didn't work).

But I'm too deep into this and just need to, probably, silicone the thing into the overflow box, but I can't figure out how?

It's a Modular Marine, with a bean animal setup. I have the primary and secondary working flawlessly. But the emergency drain hole isn't perfectly round, it's got a miscut and is a bit oval.

I note the make to say it's acrylic, the plumbing is PVC (1" if it matters) and the uniseal is, well, a uniseal.

What are my options? Just silicone the heck out of it? Bond a piece of PVC into the box? I have no idea?! There is VERY little room to work with in this box, so silicone is probably the only option. But where do I put it? On top of the hole then punch in the uniseal? On top and bottom? Put the seal in first? Or put the seal in second? That's where I'm at a loss.

EDIT: And when do I put in the emergency drain pipe? Do I silicone the hole, punch in the uniseal, silicone the bottom of the uniseal, insert the pipe to make it tight, then let it dry?!? I am out of my element here, and really looking for advice.

Any and all opinions are welcome.

OP
OP
October Sky

October Sky

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I may have figured this out, might have found a bulk head that can fit in the tiny box. Wish me luck.

csund

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0