New tank - 1 fish down

emseeKAY

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there,

So I'm new to reefing having moved from fresh and brackish in the past. Here is my current dilemma.

I have a 45g with about 30-35lbs of live rock. Fluval 307 running and a protein skimmer with some hydor wavemakers on either end. I cycled my tank with a O. clown and added nitrifying bacteria. The clown has been thriving. I had let the tank cycle for about 2 weeks with the clown until I saw a diatom bloom. Ammonia was 0. Nitrites were 0 and nitrates were staying low around 20ppm. This is when I added my clown and a single hermit crab - which from what I had read was okay.

Fast forward 2 weeks to two days ago, ammonia was 0 and diatom was blooming. I decided that since everything was reading okay that i could add some fish slowly. I added a few CUC members 1 snail, 2 smaller hermits and a pair of pajama cardinals. Acclimation went fine, and all was good, or so I thought.