Preparing to upgrade tank

ArchXIII

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So! I have a 36 gallon LPS dominated tank, with three fish (two clowns, one starry blenny) and a small mix of inverts. Next month, I'll be getting a 45 gallon tank upgrade, and going to drill it and finally have a sump, and I'm wanting to prepare and ready myself since I've never done this before, and have a couple potential issues.

Big issue, I can't have both set up at the same time, it's just sadly not an option at all. So my biggest question is.. How should I go about this? My current plan is to move about 50% of my tank water to jugs, and use the rest newly made water, I'll lay out my new sand first (getting dry sand, will wash it with rodi first), move my existing rocks over and add new rock, I'll very temporarily move my fish (clowns in one, blenny in another since he's grumpy), corals on another, inverts in another container while I do this, move over existing equiemt and set it up (all my current stuff will work, I have two kessil, a reef octopus hob rated up to 100 gallons lightly stocked, and a reef wave 25).

Once my temp is up ill acclimate everything to the water, then add them, as well as probably leave the lights off the first day so fish get settled.

Does this plan sound okay, and will I experience any kind of mini cycle?

Also I've been looking at sumps, and wondered about recommendations for my tank size? I'm wanting a pre-built one.

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your plan sounds good and every tank move I have done was the same way. I used a brute container and 5 gallon buckets. I did add battery pumps to aerate the water for my fish.

I experienced small mini cycles that I controlled with water changes to dilute the ammonia and Seachem stability bottle bacteria. The mini cycles only lasted about 2 weeks at the most. I never lost anything the 3Xs I transferred.

You can do this!

OP
OP
ArchXIII

ArchXIII