Protein Skimmer for AIO 100 Gallon Tank

JillB

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am brand new at this- just bought a 100 gallon AIO aquarium. I've been reading books and articles online and am now accumulating all the stuff I need for a successful tank. But I am stumped on where to find a protein skimmer that is appropriate for a 100 gallon tank and that will actually fit in the small compartment in the back...max dimensions cannot exceed 3.5" x 6.5"...the height obviously is not an issue. I've found a bunch that would fit in the tank but they are recommended for 35 gallon or 60 gallon tanks. I plan (someday) to have a combination of fish and soft coral.... Anyone know of a skimmer that would work?

OP
OP
JillB

JillB

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK... so I just saw this on another thread
"a 100 gallon tank with rock and other components, will have in essence 80 USEABLE gallons" ....if that's the case, I could probably get away with a Tunze 9004.000 Comline DOC Skimmer??? Yes or no??

Kasrift

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
"a 100 gallon tank with rock and other components, will have in essence 80 USEABLE gallons" ....if that's the case, I could probably get away with a Tunze 9004.000 Comline DOC Skimmer??? Yes or no??
Yes and no. What is the tank that you got? Generally speaking, even with water displacement you'd want to get a skimmer rated for the size of the tank. If you get a smaller skimmer, you will have to empty the collection cup more frequently.

Based on your space though, you might have to do with what you can and a TunZe is a good skimmer.

OP
OP
JillB

JillB

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0