Red Sea Liquid Calcium and High Strontium?

DeputyDog95

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been dosing the RS liquid foundation A&B for a long time now. SPS only tank...

I recently started playing w pH, and now w an avg of 8.3, my Alk and Ca demand have skyrocketed over the past few months.

Gone from 17Ca/50Alk ml per day to 50Ca/150Alk ml per day.

Unfortunately, the Strontium is bundled with the Ca and the Strontium has skyrocketed as well with it consistently being over 16 now. I've had a few ICP tests and they all read high these days.

Not sure what to do... I don't dose Strontium individually and the only source I'm using that I'm aware of is the RS liquid Ca.

Thoughts?

Results · Reef Labs Portal 2023-07-15 18-19-58.png

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, Red Sea did not design their additive system for 1:1 dosing so it is expected to dose more alk than calcium.

Strontium and calcium are deposited into calcium carbonate at a fixed rate that depends on the relative concentration of each. I’ve not heard of folks getting excessive strontium with this product, but if you believe it’s the source, I’d just try a different calcium additive for a while and see what happens.

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, Red Sea did not design their additive system for 1:1 dosing so it is expected to dose more alk than calcium.

Strontium and calcium are deposited into calcium carbonate at a fixed rate that depends on the relative concentration of each. I’ve not heard of folks getting excessive strontium with this product, but if you believe it’s the source, I’d just try a different calcium additive for a while and see what happens.
FWIW
Their liquid form of their B has a higher concentration amount of alk, than their dry to mix form of alk B.

Just tossing it out on the table... :)

OP
OP
D

DeputyDog95

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0