Removing a discusting old sandbed!

jimmyzhou

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you, crazy how much this is worrying me. Just keep thinking of all the things that can go wrong with disturbing old sandbed. I’m going to pull put just 6 square inches at a time during waterchanges, even if it takes me a year.

U be fine do it slow that’s all

maroun.c

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been doing the carbon dosing for over two years, Bio Pellets worked great at first almost too well. But then they were not getting no3 below 25-30ppm and tried different manufacturers, doubled the quantity, changed reactors but to no avail. So I switched at Christmas to NoPox. That took a while to show any significant reduction, then it suddenly dropped to 8-10ppm I’m dosing at max dosage of 3ml per 100l on a auto doser which doses every hour during the night and every other hour during the day. I’m actually really reluctant to remove the sand, it’s scare the detritus out of me! lol But I just feel it’s going to be a increasing pollutant as time goes on, totally my fault for not setting it correctly at first and then thinking the microfauna would do the work for me. Hoped if I act now before the start off ‘old tank syndrome’ effect. Would love if I could find a product that could remove the fine mulm in the bed though, be amazing if I did! It was a real eye opener just how much brown sludge/silt is trapped in it.

I've had a tank that struggled from.low flow and had some detritus in sand and on rocks and looked overall dirty. I used Fritz Monster 360, and dosed every week instead of every other week as they advise and also fixed the flow, it cleaned up the tank in few. Weeks.

Last edited:
OP
OP
1979fishgeek

1979fishgeek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0