Setting up a 32g LED biocube and have questions

Mike O

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys-

I’m setting up a 32g biocube and it’s my first jump into SW. I’ve been researching for a long time and have been doing FW for about 5 years. So far this is what I’ve decided on so far. I want to keep my hood on and not have to cut it. I’m curious about the setup in the sump area in the back of the tank. I plan on doing a mixed reef, starting out with softies and moving into some low maintenance LPS. Fish will probably be a pair of clowns and maybe a Goby/damsel/wrasse.

32g LED biocube
Instant Ocean Reef Crystals
BRS 5-stage RODI
Marco rock
No sand-barebottom
Dr. Tim’s one and only

1st chamber-
protein skimmer (either the cheap coralife nano or a Hydor nano. I liked the ice cap nano, but it won’t fit unless you cut or take off the hood and I don’t really want to do that.

2nd chamber-
In-Tank media basket (filter floss on top, Purigen 100 in middle, chemipure elite in bottom)
In-Tank fuge basket (going to run Chaeto)

3rd chamber-
Sicce 1.0 or 1.5 return pump (going to have a split return nozzle so it’s not so powerful)

I’m curious if any of you guys have pics of a similar setup, specifically with the protein skimmer in the 1st chamber? And anything else you guys recommend?

Would the Sicce 1.5 with a pair of RFGs be sufficient flow or would I also need a wavemaker? I plan on using the stock light for now and upgrade down the line if needed. Also, what is a good, inexpensive Fuge light that will magnet to the back of my tank?

P-Dub

The ocean is open to all, merciful to none.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0