Thoughts on levels??

mihkey

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Our tank is fairly new, about 3 weeks old now with 2 clownfish and a couple snails. What are your thoughts on this? We had an ammonia spike after our snails died, and we got that down and got new snails and everything looks good, and the fish are not in distress.

IMG_0029.jpeg

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What size is your tank? Dead snails should not produce an ammonia spike.

I would say you are going a little fast, I don't even add my first fish until 3-4 weeks after building a tank.

OP
OP
M

mihkey

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What size is your tank? Dead snails should not produce an ammonia spike.

I would say you are going a little fast, I don't even add my first fish until 3-4 weeks after building a tank.
The tank is 36 gallons. I actually go on here a lot to ask questions as I am new to saltwater tanks and have been doing research. We were not intending to get fish until after a month and a few days after we did QuickStart and stress+ my boyfriends mom surprised us with a pair of clownfish and 2 turbos. Our turbos died and I didn’t know it did until I lifted it up and it came out of the shell and smelled horrid. We fixed the ammonia and everything seemed good until I just tested the waters again and these were the results.
-Ashley(Mikey’s gf)

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would guess the turbos died of starvation. They eat algae, and a 3 week old tank has no algae yet. Seems to me like you've done your homework, cannot control well-meaning relatives.

You have ammonia and zero nitrite and zero nitrate, so the tank is still cycling, just let it all marinate for a while, until ammonia drops to zero and nitrate starts rising.