Tips for Reef Chemistry Beginners

WhoIsCandice

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are some tips / tricks that you wish were known or were publicized more frequently such that reef-newbies would be exposed to the idea / concept?
Some examples I can think of that I wish I knew when I first entered the hobby:
1. The role of alkalinity and relation to PH, and what that means
2. How the reagents in many of our test kits work from a chemistry standpoint (I'm a chemistry noob and it has been so long since I took it in HS, college-chemistry was more Physics based)
3. What elements and at what rate of consumption does X, Y, Z species of coral consume, in its natural seawater environment?

lmfbs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reef chemistry is complicated, and you can get about as complicated as you want. But you can engage on a simplier level and still find success. For me, this has made me way more confident in engaging in the chemistry, because I don't feel like I have to understand everything perfectly, I can just keep learning.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are some tips / tricks that you wish were known or were publicized more frequently such that reef-newbies would be exposed to the idea / concept?
Some examples I can think of that I wish I knew when I first entered the hobby:
1. The role of alkalinity and relation to PH, and what that means
2. How the reagents in many of our test kits work from a chemistry standpoint (I'm a chemistry noob and it has been so long since I took it in HS, college-chemistry was more Physics based)
3. What elements and at what rate of consumption does X, Y, Z species of coral consume, in its natural seawater environment?

FWIW, answer 3 is not known in a detailed way that is useful to reefers.