triton test results advice

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

bobstir

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
greetings, please see my test results here:

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 3.07.42 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 3.07.52 PM.jpg

As you can see, my lithium is high, which I know is normal from reading the other posts, but mine appears to be exceedingly high. I use a 50/50 mix of Instant Ocean and Tropic Marin Pro Reef w/ weekly water changes (~10% on 125g total system volume tank)

Further, my Boron is high as well.

Other than the salt mix, the only other thing I add to the tank that I think could be a cause for the above numbers is what I use for my 2-part dosing: Seachem Laboratories Marine Buffer and Seachem Laboratories Reef Advantage Calcium for alk and calcium respectively.

Could this be the problem? I've been using both of the above for a couple years now and haven't had any issues -- particularly with respect to fish and coral loss. My display is an SPS-dominant mixed-reef. Possible that these levels -- if left unchecked and continue to increase -- could poison / wipe the tank? Detrimental to corals, fish, both?

The other thing I'm curious about is my low phosphate reading. I do not run GFO or any other phosphate remover and I do not run a refugium -- I only have a bunch of live rock in the sump.

Over the past several months, i've been trying to increase my phosphate levels as some of my corals have started to lose their vibrancy. I feed what I think is a lot -- both to the fish and corals. The problem is if I feed too much, the algae starts taking off in my frag tank. It's generally not a problem in the display tank (perhaps because of lawnmower blenny) other than the film on the glass which I have to clean once or twice a week depending on how much I feed.