Vertex universal media reactor

TD2K

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Last year at MACNA I reluctantly stuck my hand into a bucket with a longhorn on it and managed to pull out the golden ticket. I won a universal media reactor and a bag of bio pellets. I've yet to open the box and get this thing running, but figure I need to do so. Do I need to purchase a small pump? Or do I use my existing tank's main pump? I have an extra outlet on my pump that isn't being used, I could plumb it from there and then put the water back into my fuge/sump area. The Vertex website says "Rx-U Plus units are designed for INLINE hard-plumbed and/ or REMOTE soft-hose applications."

Vertex Aquaristik > Products > Media Filters > Universal Media Reactors > RX-U > RX-U 2.5Liter +

I have no experience with media reactors, so any help/advice is appreciated.

Total volume of our tank is about 300 gals.

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hey you just need like a maxi-jet or something on some soft hose placed inside your sump and then draining back into your sump. :)

Take some photos and do a short tutorial for new people and post it in a new thread! :)

OP
OP
TD2K

TD2K

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ordered a little mag-drive 3 pump yesterday, my LFS only had a 5 in stock and we decided that was overkill. He'll have it in next week and I'll get this thing going. Stay tuned.

OP
OP
TD2K

TD2K

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Finally got it installed and running last night. I'll post pics and everything soon, we're on the road to the North Tx Reef Fanatics Frag Swap this morning.

OP
OP
TD2K

TD2K

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0