Way too much Alkalinity!!

Zeeter

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
180g tank with 40g sump.

From the 21st of February to the 2nd of March my Alkalinity was hovering about 8.0 to 8.4, with a couple of dips here and there. I confirm the Alkatronic results every couple of days with a Hanna checker. I had been dosing around 200ml a day of kH until the 2nd.

I set up a Dosetronic at 2:00 PM on the 2nd and by 8:00 AM on the 4th it has dosed over 1800ml, yet the alkalinity has stayed fairly stable.

Just today, from 1:43AM to 7:43AM it has dosed 582ml with no dips in kH other than the last couple of checks as my Alk reservoir ran out overnight..

As for corals, I have about 15 frags - all SPS or LPS and none any larger than a frag plug.

My calcium is at 401 and the DT has dosed 220ml of that since the 2nd. I'm no expert but this seems ok.

What could be the cause of the tank apparently needing so much alkalinity recently? Is it possible that I'm missing something else and it's consuming the alk to compensate?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK, so FM says:

"ALK/KH 10ml/100 L + 0,5 dkH"

In 200 gallons (757 L), adding 582 ml will boost alk by 3.8 dKH.

"CA 10 ml/100 L + 11 mg / L"

Adding 220 mL of the calcium part will boost calcium by 32 ppm.

That is actually a little overbalanced to too much calcium relative to YOUR alk dosing.

This product is not a 1:1 additive.

Can you describe the tank so we can assess the demand, and do you see any precipitation of calcium carbonate on pumps, sand, etc?

OP
OP
Z

Zeeter

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About 15 corals frags, mix of LPS and SPS with a couple of zoas.
About 15 fish, mostly small.

No noticeable precipitation.

Current state has very low Nitrates at 2.21 but phosphates are good at 0.045.

I'm running a Kalk reactor along with 2part.

Last edited:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges