What equipment do I ACCUALLY need to have a flourishing Coral tank?

Krixic

A Tad Obsessed
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! Im fairly new to reefing, something I am a bit confused about is the equipment I need to have a flourishing tank. I hear people who have calcium reactors, GFO and Carbon reactors, UV Lights, ect. Im a bit overwhelmed by all of these things and was wondering if they truely are needed? I plan I having a sump with a skimmer, filteration and refugium as well as a dosing set up. Are reactors nessecary? They seem like an easy way to over complicate things in a tank. I plan on having a semi-heavily planted coral tank with the possiblity of anenomies being introduced farther down the line along with fish. Thanks!

tsouth

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bare necessities?

Water movement (powerheads), a heater, appropriate lighting for what you want to keep, Ro/Di (Ideally), bucket o salt, and a test kit (Ammonia, Ph, Nitrites/trates)

You can get very far with water changes only.

You don't need much more filtration aside from a protein skimmer, or even a refugium, and definitely not a dosing setup.

I would advise you begin from the basics, and understand that in this hobby - you should consider purchasing something when you're trying to A. Solve a problem or B. Improve your quality of life. I can't urge you enough to do research on the "why's" for all of these things. For example, a refugium is a means of nitrate reduction through the growth of macro algae. Therefore, if you do not need to reduce nitrates, there's no need to have a refugium. This doesn't mean you can't prepare for one in the future by having a sump with a refugium compartment available.

Last edited:

Dave Cureton

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0