What printer do you use and is it worth self-building?

TCoach

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

So, I've been tinkering with reef-pi and as many of you know, have it working by using Seneye data (30 min refresh due to api limits) and Kasa hs300 power strips. Now I'm looking at how I take it to the next level. I'm a software engineer/DBA by trade, so building it by hand is appealing. The automation side of me wants quick and easy so I can focus on the automation/control. What is your feeling on the value proposition of self-building vs buying one of the pre-built reef-pi controllers?

A couple of other questions:

1. How easy/hard is the 3D printing? I don't own a printer, so are there any recommendations? I can see several other things I can use it for (I.e. a Hanna corvette holder for my AutoAqua magnetic stirrer being one), but it is definitely an initial cost addition to self-building.

2. I see a lot of professional looking plug'n'play boards, how do you go from the reef-pi guides and a pile of wires to these "fancy" boards.

3. Is there an advantage to using a hardwired power strip vs just using the HS300's?

I'm sure I'll have other questions. Thanks for taking time to help me figure out how to go.

kstripp

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Warning: getting a 3D printer is dangerous! It will add to your collection of addictive hobbies!

Seriously though, I got a Prusa MK3 kit and I love it. And it has uses far beyond the reef - I've printed replacement kitchen drawer brackets, bird perch clamps... you get the idea.

attiland

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,