When to harvest phytoplankton and copepods

TWYOUNG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is this nannochloropsis phyto ready to harvest? Also, Copepods have been "cooking" for three weeks now and I don't know if I should a) Just add enough saltwater to roughly double the volume? b) Sieve it and use all new water? c) Leave it be? Thanks in advance. This is my first attempt at culturing either.

F3950504-DA0C-4C29-94EA-C20131E2B89C.jpeg F36EAF89-44BE-48AC-99D2-D9C921EBB8C5.jpeg

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is this nannochloropsis phyto ready to harvest? Also, Copepods have been "cooking" for three weeks now and I don't know if I should a) Just add enough saltwater to roughly double the volume? b) Sieve it and use all new water? c) Leave it be? Thanks in advance. This is my first attempt at culturing either.

F3950504-DA0C-4C29-94EA-C20131E2B89C.jpeg F36EAF89-44BE-48AC-99D2-D9C921EBB8C5.jpeg
Id harvest 2 jars and split the 3rd. Mine go for a week, then harvest.
The pods Id leave for 6 weeks then seive/ harvest.
I have only done a few pod harvests.

OP
OP
T

TWYOUNG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I chose Nanno for the phyto cultures bc I read it was the easiest. Now I wish I'd chosen a motile type so I could easily scope it and tell it was alive. I've also read Nanno is not ideal as food for copepods due to hard cell wall.

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The phyto looks good to me.

You should be able to see the pods. If you can’t, get yourself a loupe or a magnifying glass , but you can visibly watch the numbers grow, and harvest when the container is full. I don’t count weeks I just eyeball it.

OP
OP
T

TWYOUNG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The phyto looks good to me.