Why won't my corals grow

Thunderrap

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, so I'm new to the reefing hobby and really loving it but I have a few questions that I just can't seem to find the answer to. I'm sorry this post will probably be a long one but I appreciate anyone who can stick it out and help! I'll put tank specs at the bottom for more information. Quick info though is I have a hammer coral, blasto, and a couple zoa's that I picked up from the LFS here and I couldn't tell you the name of them if I wanted to LOL. I've had them for about 3 weeks but I haven't seen any growth, some of the zoa's still haven't come out so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Now for the lengthy information

38gal bowfront
Aquamaxx 1.5 HOB skimmer
Seachem Tidal 55 running red sea carbon, and regular mechanical filter media
x2 eFlux 1050 wavemakers running 100% flow on surge 25sec interval
1 eFlux 2100 wavemaker running 40% steady stream
x2 AI Prime HD16's running the WWC preset from their website for the 24g nano tank but I boosted up the intensity because it's a bigger tank
38ish lbs of dry rock
2in sand bed

Water Parameters:
ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
NItrate 10 - 15 (no matter what I do i can't seem to get that down, I do weekly 20% water changes and have done a couple 50%) Salifert tester
phosphates 0 (can't seem to get this to go up at all/hanna checker)
Alk - 8.4 - 8.6 (hanna checker)

fish:
1 small yellow tang (yes I know they need a big tank, I plan on upgrading in less than 2 years if I can figure this out)
1 clown
1 domino damsel
1 3 striped damsel (yes I know damsels have a bad wrap but I haven't had any issues with mine)
1 lawnmower blenny
various hermits and snails
1 serpent starfish
IMG_0769.jpg

OP
OP
Thunderrap

Thunderrap

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0