Wood stand possible for 300g... no center brace?

whitelightning77

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Like the title states, it's it possible? I might be getting a 84x36x24 low iron tank this weekend. Wondering if a wood stand with no center brace is possible?

Last edited by a moderator:

Soren

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Like the title states, it's it possible? I might be getting a 84x36x24 low iron train this weekend. Wondering if a wood stand with no center brace is possible?
It's possible, but probably not worth it, in my opinion. Though I would not claim to be an expert, I am an engineer by profession and do work related to structures.
If you used something like 1X12's for the long span (84"), maybe there would not be enough warp to allow tank damage, but it seems a significant risk to me. If interested, I might be able to do some calculations to test this.

Is the tank rimless or rimmed? Euro-braced or other bracing?
What are the primary reasons you want to have no center braces?

OP
OP
whitelightning77

whitelightning77

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's possible, but probably not worth it, in my opinion. Though I would not claim to be an expert, I am an engineer by profession and do work related to structures.
If you used something like 1X12's for the long span (84"), maybe there would not be enough warp to allow tank damage, but it seems a significant risk to me. If interested, I might be able to do some calculations to test this.

The look, but mainly because I have an 80 gal sump which is 48x24. So I want to make sure I can remove it if need be. It's a rimmed tank.

Soren

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The look, but mainly because I have an 80 gal sump which is 48x24. So I want to make sure I can remove it if need be. It's a rimmed tank.
48" sump would still fit with a "center" brace that is offset from center of the 84" span.