My first tank ever!

ManOfSalt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I'm brand new to the hobby and I had my LFS build a setup for me. They built me a 130 60x17x30 display with a 28x17x28 sump tank. They're making a cabinet for the sump and the display will sit on top of an old sturdy wine cabinet I bought with my new place. I managed to snap some pics at the shop. Just waiting on the painters to stain the cabinet and it should hopefully be delivered early next week! Doing lots of research and forking through this amazing forum in the meantime along with sketching some aquascape ideas. I can barely sit still :bounce:

Display
2014-02-14 13.45.55.jpg

Sump
sump_clear.jpg
2014-02-14 13.48.40.jpg

OP
OP
ManOfSalt

ManOfSalt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well It's been an eventful weekend! Most of my setup arrived Saturday morning. Still waiting on sand, live rock and they're bringing by a tanker full of ocean water :)

I spent most of the day staining the cabinet and the remaining time plumbing it up. My very first DIY stain and plumb job! Here's how it went.

Cabinet before staining

e4e3e9e5.jpg

After staining... The idea was to exactly match the color but that didn't work out lol. It blends in well with the rest of the place so not too awful.

e7a3usy8.jpg

My plumbing job. Semi happy with how it turned out. Will probably need to attach something to the skimmer pipe if it moves around.

e4uja6un.jpg

My light! Still need to work out how I'm going to attach this. Not sure the feet that come with it work for my tank. May need to invest in a hood.

aje7eba8.jpg

A close up on the filter media that went in. Will be adding a sand bed to the sump as well.

uzu2ane8.jpg

The display!
y3aruma7.jpg

OP
OP
ManOfSalt

ManOfSalt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0