The Seachem Aquavitro Salinity thread

cparka23

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wanted to collect users' impressions of Aquavitro Salinity salt in one thread, so it is easier for people to find out what the pros and cons are. Whenever someone has questions about what salt to use, the responses are usually "I use this," or "I used that and switched to something else." It doesn't give much of an idea of what a new user of the salt should expect to see.

So this is an open invitation to everyone who's used Aquavitro Salinity. Please post your impressions - good and bad.

OP
OP
cparka23

cparka23

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll start. I've been using this salt for about 3 months (~60 gallons worth) after being impressed by a review at AquaNerd. The fact that there's a guaranteed analysis printed on each bucket also made for a great selling point, and I've found that the salt matches the label very well. I've even stopped testing my new saltwater except for salinity.

Now for the bad. Even with the salt fully mixed in, the water stays slightly cloudy. A little salt residue remains in suspension and a lot accumulates on the sides of my mixing containers. I'll let my salt mix 24 hours in a 20 gallon aquarium with a powerhead in it, but it just won't clear up. I've thrown in a heater, tried adding the salt slowly, and given it an extra day or two, but it just won't clear up. Despite this, the measurements work out alright. I just remove the powerhead and let it settle out before the water change.

Overall, the residue is annoying, and it gives me pause when I think of getting another bucket. Still, I can't argue with the fact that my aquarium seems to be healthy and thriving. Maybe it's just a bad batch, but I'm going to ask the LFS if I can exchange it for another brand if the next bucket does this as well.

buddythelion

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0