Clownfish bloated after every meal for last few months

RaymondNoodles

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My clownfish has been getting extremely bloated after every meal for the last few months. He struggles to stay down in the water column for an hour or two after eating, then eventually he farts/poops and returns to normal. He will usually spend a good portion of that hour floating upside down underneath the anemone in order to get a break and catch his breath. I have been feeding him bits of peas occasionally for the last 2 months which hasn't seemed to make a difference. 2 or 3 months ago I added Hikari seaweed extreme for the added fiber which also hasn't helped. I feed twice most days; breakfast is Reef Nutrition flakes, Hikari Marine S pellets and Hikari seaweed extreme pellets. Dinner is LRS Reef Frenzy. About once per week I soak the food in Selcon. I always soak the food in tank water for a few minutes prior to feeding and make sure it stays down in the water column. Tank is 2 years old and I have had this fish for 1 year and 8 months. Tank mates are diamond goby, blue springeri damsel, cleaner shrimp and a couple snails. No issues with the other inhabitants. When I got the clownfish he was pretty mature already, about 2-2.5" long and has grown about 1 inch in this tank. I made a YouTube video showing what happens after feeding. Here's a video I made a couple nights ago

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0