Do you really need to DIY PWM boards for everything?

strich

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm currently researching a potential reef tank build where I have a lot of deep control over every facet of the tank. As an experienced programmer I am even excited to do so!
One thing I'm not particularly interested in DIYing however is the raw hardware - I'm less interested in building hardware controller boards for individual devices (pumps, lights, etc) and more interested in building the software of an over-arching controller that can collect and act on all the probe data.

Are there a subset of brands (Kessil?) for various parts of a reef setup that have built-in controllers with some kind of API access to control and monitor them? What options do I have to outsource the hardware side of things (apart from the main controller itself) and focus on the software?

biznatch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Robotank. Has everything assembled already so you just focus on the reef-pi config. I have just the controller on my 15g, and the full kit (powerbar/sensor/DC extension) on my 135g. Works great. Rob is awesome and quick to respond with any questions.

Sral

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Another option might be any kind of smart socket that has Tasmota or similar. Not sure, but I think there are even dimmable smart sockets.

Problem is always that communication protocols might not be open source or even openly described.

DanTheReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0