Echinophyllia v chalice

TonapahNorth

Reefed In
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To make a long story short, I'm new to the hobby. Is there a difference between these corals? They look similar but I don't know the difference in care strategy.

I bought an "alien eye chalice" which seems to "act" as I expected. I also got a "pink pucker chalice" and a "red volcano/lava chalice" but these don't act like the alien eye. I've seen no "feelers" at night seeking food. They just sit there looking pretty.

I've had them going on two weeks and params are solid. Just trying to figure things out.

Tona

Tonapah

_Alex_

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some chalices I have had going on 2 years. In one tank I had them never once seen feeders. Now moved to a different tank and get feeders all over te place. Lol.

Chalices are affected a lot by lighting a flow. Maybe play around with placement and move them to a bit lower light. And more/less flow. Even try killing all flow in the tank and drop some food on them.

-Alex-

Tab28

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are several coral species under the chalice name. Some have small feeding tentacles while others send out sweeper type tentacles. It depends on the mood of the chalice, as well ad the exact species. Some are just more prone to having sweepers. This is common in many LPS corals. They have feeder tentacles and sweepers which can contain stinger cells if another coral seems too close.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

evolved

[email protected]
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
"Chalice" is just a common name for these types of corals. Whereas "Echinophyllia" is a scientific genus.

There are two genera which make up most of the "chalice" corals: Echinopora and Echinophyllia.