Green algea in 13.5 gallon EVO tank need help

AaronB5916

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I have had this 13.5-gallon saltwater tank kit for a few months now and its never stops having loads of algae in it. I do water changes every week from the water from my local Petco, but I also have my own ROM but it's too cold to use it since I connect it to my hose into my basement. I just did a water test, and it came to have
PH- 8.4
Nitrate-20
Nitrite-0
Ammonia-0
Salinity-1.027
I have a pair of clowns, two small bubble tip anemones, 4 small turbo snails, Blood shrimp, and two hermit crabs. I know the PH and nitrate are a little high but even when i do get those numbers lower after a good 5-gallon water change the algae comes back within a day or two. I am fairly new to saltwater but i really just want to make this tank look good and without green algae covering all the glass, any advice would be really helpful.

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your phosphate level? Algae will suck up Phsphates and Nitrates for food. I would also test the saltwater you're getting from Petco. I strongly suggest making your own. You'll need an RODI filtration unit, not just a reverse osmosis system.
When you make your own water, do it in a bucket with a powerhead and a heater.

kingjames_dc5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What’s your po4 and no3 levels? Algae tends to grow in more nutrient rich waters. Liked stated about I would definitely be testing the water from Petco. And making your on is highly recommend. Could possibly even be cheaper for you. I run RO water in my system and have no issues. Most will say RODI is better which it may be for them. But I have been lead to believe by Dr Tim that the beneficial bacteria tend to better in RO.

OP
OP
A

AaronB5916

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0