MY 180 gallon build

Michael Yager

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I got the itch to upgrade my reef system. I am currently running a 90 gallon system with a Marineland Reef Ready tank. My plan is to have a reef system that is fully automated. After months of research, I ordered my tank from Planet Aquariums (and it is a masterpiece) and started to build my aquarium stand. I want my stand to be able to support this tank WITHOUT center supports on the front. To be able to accomplish this, I framed it out of 2" X 8" solid red oak. I then laminated a 2X4 piece of oak to that to support the cross braces. I can say that it should hold a ton.
I have been collecting components for the last 2 months also. I still need 75-100 pounds of rock and aquascape the tank before I can add any water.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

OP
OP
Michael Yager

Michael Yager

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I have never been good at recording progress as that breaks the rhythm. I have the new tank filled with water, sand and some rock. I do not plan on adding more than 20 pounds of rock as I will depend on MarinePure Block to handle the bio-load. I currently have 3 shrimp in some nylon trying to jump start the cycling process. I an running 1.33 cups of Rox .08 active carbon. I am going to convert my other reactor into a recurculating bio carbon reactor. So, now for the wait. At least it gives me time to skin the tank

By the way, the Kessil AP-700 is awesome
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

OP
OP
Michael Yager

Michael Yager

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0