New To Reefing - Looking for Advice for Basic Equipment Requirements

Tygris88

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Fellow Reefers, I am new to the reefing game and I have just recently purchased a second-hand red sea peninsula 650.
I am wondering what equipment I would need at the very least to get a couple of clowns in there to get me started until I start investing over time.

I am assuming I don't need a light straight away as I am probably going to end up purchasing coral later on so I would like to save some money over the next few months to invest in good lighting. Would I be able to get away with purchasing say a Radion xr15 or AI Hydras 32 for sps and lps later down the track? or is it absolutely imperative I purchase something more powerful like the Xr30s?

In terms of wavemakers/powerheads, will a single Mp40 or the Red Sea 45/Maxspect Gyre suffice for now with a second one to be purchased later down the track?

Do I need a protein skimmer straight away as well? or can this be purchased later too once i have a fair amount of fish in there?

What I am trying to do here is purchase these items monthly so it lines up with my paycheck however, I don't want to wait 3-6 months to buy all the equipment before I get a couple of fish in there.

thanks, guys! all tips are appreciated.

OP
OP
Tygris88

Tygris88

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You don't need lighting until you actually add corals. You'll probably need a minimum of 3-4 XR15s or a pair of XR30s. Skimmer is definitely a must. A single ReefWave45 or MP40 would work initially, yes.
thanks for your response, what are your thoughts on the Octo-Pulse 4 or the AI Nero 5s for the RS Peninsula 650?
Mp40s are super expensive and I'm sorta looking to be on a medium-end on the budget.

what are some other smaller miscellaneous items I should buy before diving into the bigger equipment?
i.e. bio, auto toppers, live rock, filter cups, etc... things of that sort?

OP
OP
Tygris88