Red, itchy and burning of fingers

naybedg

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey yall so I’m new to the saltwater aquarium reef tanks and I just started one not long ago and have handled some coral but just yesterday night my thumb and index finger started burning a bit, didn’t think much of it until today it started itching more and burning more and now it’s even red. Does anyone know if this happens when handling some coral or just cuz of the saltwater? But all my other fingers aren’t like this.

IMG_3507.jpeg IMG_3506.jpeg IMG_3508.jpeg IMG_3509.jpeg

slingfox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know it may seem cumbersome but you should look into getting a pair of shoulder length gloves on Amazon for working in the tank. After you get used to it it becomes quite convenient since it is easier to wipe those down with a towel than wash your hands. When doing more delicate work like fragging coral I use latex gloves.

littlefoxx

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey yall so I’m new to the saltwater aquarium reef tanks and I just started one not long ago and have handled some coral but just yesterday night my thumb and index finger started burning a bit, didn’t think much of it until today it started itching more and burning more and now it’s even red. Does anyone know if this happens when handling some coral or just cuz of the saltwater? But all my other fingers aren’t like this.

IMG_3507.jpeg IMG_3506.jpeg IMG_3508.jpeg IMG_3509.jpeg
What is in your tank? Fish, corals inverts will help. Im deathly allergic to lion fish venom (literally) so it could be anything that is irritating you

OP
OP
N

naybedg

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of coral? Was it on a rock? Did you touch rock while handling coral?

This is important because bristle worms will get you while messing around their home.